Beer and food: Poached pears with Aventinus

At beer school (Prud’homme™ Beer Certification course) we did a cooking class with beer. For dessert we cooked poached pears with Trois Pistoles. It turned out amazing and the sauce came out nice and syrupy. I was so excited I thought I’d try this at home. I couldn’t get my hands on Trois Pistoles so I decided to try with Schneider Aventinus. This beer has a ton of flavors – cloves, cherry, vanilla, some sweetness – brown sugar/molasses and bread. It’s a rich beer, medium bodied, and high in alcohol so I thought it would be a good alternative. The result was spot on! The sauce came out nice and syrupy when reduced. And the aroma was so complex while cooking. Will definitely try this again!

2 Comments

Filed under beer and food

2 responses to “Beer and food: Poached pears with Aventinus

  1. that’s a great idea, I can see that working well.

Leave a Reply

