Cheers to woman and drinking beer!

Great article here about woman in the beer industry: http://www.theatlantic.com/life/archive/2011/03/shattering-beers-glass-ceiling-the-rise-of-women-brewers/72156/

Last month I went to a tasting hosted by Mirella Amato, Canada’s first certified beer judge. It was a woman’s only tasting. I didn’t know what to expect but when I got there there were about 15 woman! It was great. Mostly when I go to tastings I’m a minority and it’s amazing to be in the company of other woman who appreciate and respect beer. One girl there was a home brewer – First woman homebrewer I’ve met in my life! The group is called Barley’s Angels and they have a a chapter in Astoria, Buenos Aires, Portland, Sydney (Australia), Vancouver and now Toronto!

I’m member number 7 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under beer events

Leave a Reply

