Beer, Cheese and Food Pairing at Leslieville Cheese

Last night I went to a Beer, Cheese and Food Pairing at Leslieville Cheese on Queen Street. I’ve been wanted to go to their events for some time now and because this one had pumpkin muffins (love anything pumpkin) it was a good excuse for me to go!

The event was hosted by Sam Corbeil, from Sawdust brewing (set to open in Muskoka in Spring 2012).

Here are the pairings:

1. Garrison Oktoberfest Marzen + Beemster Vlaskaas

This pairing was a great choice. The Beemster Vlaskaas as a very subtle earthiness to it and doesn’t have a very powerful flavor. The earthiness went really well with the grainy/bread flavors in the Mazen. I also really liked how the malt sweetness played nicely with the slight creaminess of the cheese. Both the beer and the cheese flavors were enhanced when enjoyed together.

2. MicroBrasserie Charlevoix Dominus Vobiscum Blanche + Spaghetti Squash with thyme

This was probably my least favorite of all the pairings. Both were very light and I found they lost one another when mixed together. What I did like was how the Chamomile and the thyme mixed with each other. They definitely complimented each other. I would have probably paired this Wheat beer with a chicken made with thyme.

3. Sawdust City Lone Pine IPA + Sweet Potato Salad with Goat Cheese 

This was my favorite pairing – loved it! First of all I was excited to try the Sawdust City Lone Pine IPA. It was a great IPA! When paired with the salad the nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger in the salad played nicely with the pine bitterness of the IPA. I also liked the goat cheese in the dish paired the bitterness of the beer down a bit. The sweet potato brought out the caramel malt character of the beer. Loved this dish and I’m looking forward to experimenting with this spices and another IPA.

4. Cannery Maple Stout + Turkey Burger with Cranberry Sauce and Applewood smoked cheddar.

The Cannery Maple Stout is a Fall seasonal release and it was the first time I’ve tried it. Personally I found this a bit too sweet to drink on its own. I thought it was excellent paired with the Turkey burger and it balanced the beer out a bit. I loved how it paired with the Applewood smoked cheddar. The smokiness brought out the roasted notes in the porter and vice versa. The sweetness in the beer cut through the cheddar. Would pair this again with a Smoked Gouda to see how it plays out.

5. Great Lakes Pumpkin Ale + Pumpkin Cupcakes

I didn’t get a chance to actually try these together. Obviously I’m sure they would have complimented each other very well. I was so excited about the pumpkin cupcakes I just inhaled it in one bite…they were mini cupcakes!

Being my first time at one of these events, I enjoyed it a lot. I thought the food and beer was well worth the $40. I also liked how the beers we had were from 5 different provinces. Also I was really impressed that out of 24 people there, majority were women – approximately 17. Perhaps more woman like cheese than men do…. The point is I love how there are more and more woman I see who enjoy beer and enjoy discovering beer. Many were asking a lot of questions about beers and availability and pairings. Love seeing this!

Leave a comment

Filed under beer and cheese, beer and food

Leave a Reply

